My (Brief) Love Affair with New York Pt. 2

The Part Where Home Wasn’t Home Anymore

Matthew David
4 min readFeb 13, 2024

After the incident where I explosively left my job, I needed a reprieve from the madness of that city and the “Dominator” culture. I was tired of my little room that could only fit a twin sized bed and a small desk. I wanted room to breathe.

It was late October and the crisp autumn evenings were calling my name. The one thing I missed when I was in New York versus here was the early mornings in the autumn.

Early mornings in autumnal New York were a welcome respite from the blazing summer heat that suffocated you on the subway platform and by the wafts of hot garbage flowing through the air. New York was a city whose true colors shone in the autumn walking along Fifth Avenue when the sun was gently setting in the evening; when all the people were going out for dinner, or going shopping, or to see the European tourists seeing the best of the American Cities; one that was always uniquely it’s own, breathing it’s own life, subsuming the individual and taking on the character of the many individuals, not entirely unlike a blob-like entity.

Two days after my quitting, I left New York for what was supposed to be a week stay at my mom’s house. A friend of mine was directing a show at a local theatre and asked me to audition. I got cast. What was supposed to be a one week escape turned into a 3-month escapade.

--

--

Matthew David

Philosopher. Writer. Coffee Addict. I write about Philosophy from the Ancient Greeks to Existentialism. https://medium.com/@matthew-david/about ←Learn more here